Articles Posted in DISTRACTED DRIVING

Published on:

Posted by Christina Cribbs
It is illegal to text while driving in Georgia. Taking this concept to another level, a New Jersey Appeals Court recently published an opinion that opened the door to liability for individuals that knowingly send text messages to someone who is driving. (See Published Opinion, Kubert v. Best, et al.).
Continue reading

Published on:

Posted by Wm. Daniel Floyd
Effective July 1, 2010, it is illegal to text while driving or stopped at a traffic light in the State of Georgia. Drivers caught breaking this law face a $150 fine and one point on their driver’s license.

While this law has received a lot of publicity lately, there was already a law on the books that regulated texting by drivers. The old law prohibited drivers from performing any action that would distract from driving carefully. The legislature created this generic statute in 1990 as an attempt to limit the increased use of mobile telephones while driving. Primarily, the law was used by police officers when investigating accidents as an additional charge if they believed the improper cell phone use caused an automobile accident. Further, some local governments, like DeKalb County took the stronger stance by imposing an additional $500 fine if the driver causing the accident was talking on the phone at the time of the accident. See OCGA § 40-6-241.
Continue reading